The Test series took place between Blackcaps and South Africa in Hagley Oval on 17-19 February. Christchurch. New Zealand thrashed to lead the Test Series with a 1-0 scoreline.

New Zealand won the toss and decided to bowl first.

Also Read: Winners of IPL Season from 2008 to 2021

South Africa’s first innings

South Africa commenced their innings with a loss of one wicket in just 2nd overs. New Zealand bowlers dominated South Africa batsmen. Matt Henry picked up wickets after wickets. He took a total of 7 wickets for 23 runs. Tim Southee, Kyle Jamieson and Neil Wagner took 1 wicket each and challenged them with the short ball. They had lost 7 wickets in 77 runs. South Africa was green wickets in just 95 runs.

New Zealand’s first innings

On the first day of the first Test, New Zealand scored 116 runs for 3 wickets. New Zealand led by 21 runs. Devon Conway and Henry Nicholls made a partnership of 70 runs for the second wicket. After that Devon Conway was out for just 36 runs off 76 deliveries. Henry Nicholls made 37 runs not out.

New Zealand’s innings continued on the second day. Henry Nicholls reached his century on his home ground from 156 balls. After that Duanne Olivier sent Henry Nicholls to the pavilion in 105 runs off 163 balls. Collin de Grandhomme and Tom Blundell put 76 runs for the seventh wicket. Tom Blundell scored 96 runs off 138 balls. In the end, Matt Henry scored 58 runs not out. New Zealand made a massive target of 482 runs in their first innings.

South Africa’s second innings

South Africa’s second innings was not started on good terms. Tim Southee and Henry Nicholls challenged South Africa by taking three wickets in just 6 overs. South Africa was on 34 runs for 3 wickets.

The third day carried on with South Africa’s innings. South Africa attained 111 runs in 41.4 overs. Tim Southee led the match to win by taking 5 wickets in South Africa’s second innings. Matt Henry and Neil Wagner picked up 2 wickets each for 32 and 19 runs. South Africa ended on losing the Test from New Zealand. New Zealand won the 1st Test by innings and by 276 runs.

The second test begins at Hagley Oval next Friday.