After a protracted injury layoff, leg-spinner Georgia Wareham has been named to Australia’s squad for the ICC Women’s T20 World Cup in South Africa.

Wareham, who replaced Nicola Carey in the team that thrashed India 4-1 in a T20I series late last year, prevailed over fellow leg-spinner Amanda-Jade Wellington to earn a spot in the team.

Warehem Returns to World Cup Squad After 2021

Since rupturing her ACL in October 2021, Wareham has not participated in a T20 match; instead, she has only participated in the Women’s National Cricket League 50-over competition as match practice.

All-rounder Ash Gardner is the other spin option in the anticipated team, with fellow leg-spinner Alana King appearing to be the favoured selection in the starting XI.

Georgia Wareham (Pic Credits: Twitter)

Phoebe Litchfield has been dropped from the squad due to the return of captain Meg Lanning, and Alyssa Healy has been selected despite suffering from a calf strain that prevented her from playing in several of the India tour’s games.

Healy won’t play in the three forthcoming ODIs against Pakistan at home, but she’ll be available for the bilateral T20I series against the same opposition and Australia’s defence of the T20 World Cup.

‘Challenging Selection’

Australian national selector Shawn Flegler said that the general strength of Australia’s playing pool made selection challenging.

“It’s always tough to narrow a squad down to just 15 players, but we’re confident we’ve picked a well-balanced side that’s well placed for the series against Pakistan and ready to challenge for a third consecutive T20 title,” he added.

Tahlia McGrath, Darcie Brown, and Heather Graham are all participating in their maiden T20 World Cup tour, and nine other members of Australia’s championship 2020 team will be on hand for their trophy defence.

Grace Harris Also Named to World Cup Squad

Grace Harris, who was a late withdrawal from the 2016 team, is also named to her first T20 World Cup squad, and Kim Garth, who represented Ireland in the 2016 and 2018 tournaments, is named to her first T20 World Cup squad in the Australian colours.

On February 12 against New Zealand, Australia will open its World Cup defence before group matches against Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, and the host nation South Africa.

By Aditya Singh

An alumnus of DU and loves to follow Cricket, Hockey and Chess. Queen's gambit always declined!